How to Disable/Enable Sharing Activity on Twitch
Sharing your Twitch activity is great to keep your friends in the loop of your interests. But you can always disable it. Here's how.
Twitch is not only a streaming and viewing platform, but it is also a social platform. This means, Twitch too, works like most of the popular social networking platforms. You can make friends, chat, share your activity, and even join each other’s activities.
The option to ‘Share Activity’ is enabled by default on Twitch. This option is available on mobile and desktop apps and can be enabled/disabled from both devices. However, your activity is shared only when you’re using Twitch on the desktop app. This activity can be viewed on any of your friend’s devices.
What Happens When You Share Activity on Twitch?
Your activity goes live only when the ‘Share my activity’ feature is enabled on the Twitch desktop app. Though this toggle is present on both devices, only the desktop app shows your activity. There are a couple of things that happen when you enable sharing your activity on the desktop app.
Firstly, your activity becomes visible below your username (found after clicking the user profile button in the top right corner of the screen).
Your friends will see your activity in place of the ‘Online’ status. The status will now be shown with the correspondingly colored dot to the extreme right of the chat tile.
When your friends tap/click on your chat tile, they can join your activity (the stream you’re watching) by hitting the ‘Join’ button.
Disable ‘Sharing Activity’ on Twitch Mobile App
Open Twitch on your phone and tap the user profile icon in the top left corner of the screen.
Select ‘Set Presence’ on the following menu.
Tap the purple toggle button next to ‘Share my activity’ on the ‘Presence’ screen to turn it grey — suggesting the feature is disabled.
Your activity will not be shared anymore.
Enable ‘Sharing Activity’ on Twitch Mobile App
To enable sharing activity on your Twitch mobile app, head back to the ‘Presence’ screen by following the same procedure as explained above. User profile button > Set Presence. Now, tap the grey toggle button next to ‘Share my activity’ to turn it purple.
Disable ‘Sharing Activity’ on Twitch Desktop App
Launch Twitch on your computer and click your user profile button in the top right corner of the screen.
Click the toggle button next to ‘Share My Activity’ to turn it black and white.
Your Twitch activity will not be shared with your friends henceforth.
Enable ‘Sharing Activity’ on Twitch Desktop App
To enable sharing your activity on the Twitch desktop app, click the user profile button in the top right corner of the screen. Then, click the toggle button next to ‘Share my activity’ to turn the black and white toggle back to purple.
That’s about it for disabling/enabling the feature to share your activity on Twitch. We hope you found our guide useful!