What is Bitwarden Send and How to Use it

Secure Send

Bitwarden Send is a secure text and file transfer service offered by the makers of Bitwarden Password Manager. The text/files on Bitwarden Send are sent through a link and you can set controls to delete the file after a specific time period. You can also choose the number of times the link can be accessed.

The text or files you send through a link on Bitwarden Send are end-to-end encrypted and no one except you and the receiver can read/view the file you send. You can also add a password as an additional layer of security to the link.

You can only share a Bitwarden Send using the link of the text or file. The receiver doesn’t have to be a Bitwarden user to be able to access the shared Bitwarden Send text/file. Anyone with the link can view it (if not password protected).

Currently, free users can only send the text. To send files you need to have a premium subscription. Bitwarden Send is added as a feature in the currently available Bitwarden Password Managers. You can use the feature on desktop, mobile, and browsers. Let’s see how you can use Bitwarden Send on different platforms.

How to Use Bitwarden Send on Desktop

To get started, open the Bitwarden desktop application and click on ‘Send’ at the bottom of the window.

Now, click on the ‘+’ symbol beside the ‘Send’ button to add text or a file if you are a premium user.

Option to send ‘Text’ will be selected by default if you are a free user. Enter the name of ‘Send’ in the Name box and enter the text you want to send in the text field.

After entering the text you want to send, scroll down and click on the drop-down ‘Options’ button just below the text field to add a security feature to the text you are sending.

Set deletion date by clicking on the drop-down arrow of ‘Deletion Date’ and select the time period from the options or set a custom time period by selecting ‘Custom’ from the options.

Now, click on the drop-down button of ‘Expiration Date’ and select the time period after which the text will expire. If you want to set a custom time period click on ‘Custom’ from the options.

You can set the number of users who can access the text by setting the ‘Maximum Access Count’ using the up and down buttons.

After setting the ‘Maximum Access Count, set ‘Password’, if you need an additional layer of security using the Password field.

In the ‘NOTES’ section below the ‘Password’ field, you can enter notes for your personal reference. It can only be accessed by you. Or you can disable the access to the Send once you have sent it and the receiver has accessed it once.

After entering the notes, check the button in the ‘SHARE’ section to copy the link to share it with users and click on the ‘Save’ icon to save the send.

You can then share the Send link generated by Bitwarden to anyone via Email or any secure messaging app that you trust to share the text or file.


How to Use Bitwarden Send on Mobile

Currently, the Bitwarden Send feature is available for all iOS users while for Android devices, it’s only available to beta users of Bitwarden Password Manager. You can join the beta program at any time from the Google Play Store on your Android device.

Open the Bitwarden Password Manager app on your mobile and tap on ‘Send’ at the bottom of the screen.

You will see an empty space (as you haven’t used Send feature). Tap on the ‘+’ button enclosed in the circle at the bottom-right of the screen, or at the top-left of the screen on iOS devices.

It will open ‘Add Send’ screen. Fill the details under Name and Text or select File if you want to send a file and you’ve a premium subscription.

Toggle the button next to ‘Share this Send upon save.’ to get share options after the completion of filling details. Then, to access configure security features of the ‘Send’, tap on the ‘OPTIONS’ drop-down option.

Set the security features like Deletion Date, Expiration Date, Maximum Access Count, Password, etc.

After entering the details, tap on ‘Save’ at the top-right of the screen.

You will now see ‘Sharing’ options as you have enabled them. Share it with the person who you want to Send through the app of your choice.


How to Use Bitwarden Send on Chrome, Firefox, and Edge

You can use Bitwarden Send on web browsers using the extension released by Bitwarden for your browser.

Open Bitwarden Password extension in the toolbar and click on the ‘Send’ button.

Now, click on ‘Add Send’ on the extension box to create a new ‘Send’.

Enter name and text to ‘Send’ in the Name and Text fields.

After filling the details, scroll down and check the box beside ‘Copy this Send’s link to clipboard upon save.’ to copy the link and click on ‘Options’ to set security features.

Set the security features you want for your text and click on ‘Save’ at the top-right.

The link of the “Send’ will be copied automatically. Paste the link wherever you want to send it to others.

You can use ‘Send’ feature on Firefox and Microsoft Edge in the same way as there is no difference in how they look.


How to Disable a Bitwarden Send

If you have used Bitwarden Send to send a text or file and you no longer want people to access it, you can disable the Send. People with the link will see the ‘Send does not exist or is no longer available’ message once you disable it.

To disable a Bitwarden Send, click on the ‘Send’ you want to disable from the history.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is allthings.how-what-is-bitwarden-send-and-how-to-use-it-image-13.png

You will see its details. Click on the drop-down ‘OPTIONS’ button in the details.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is allthings.how-what-is-bitwarden-send-and-how-to-use-it-image-14.png

Scroll down in the options and check the box beside ‘Disable this Send so that no one can access it.’

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is allthings.how-what-is-bitwarden-send-and-how-to-use-it-image-16.png

It will disable the send at once making it inaccessible to the users with the link.

You will find the same option on Mobile app or browser extensions in ‘Options’ to disable a ‘Send’.