Categories
🍎 iPhone

How to Stop iPhone from Syncing with iTunes when Plugged into Computer

Automatic syncing is one of the most useful feature of iTunes. It makes sure that your data on iPhone is backed up on your computer. However, if you use iCloud backup anyway, and don’t want iTunes to nag you every time you connect your iPhone to your computer, then disabling automatic sync might give you some peace.

iTunes can sync with your computer both wirelessly and automatically when plugged in. If you don’t want to sync over a cable connection, you can chose to wirelessly sync iTunes with your iPhone when both your computer and your iPhone are connected to the same network. Wireless sync is not automatic (probably to save iPhone batery), so you’ll also have the choice to sync at your will.

Disabling iTunes Automatic Sync for iPhone

Open iTunes on your computer, and connect your iPhone to it using a USB to lighting cable. Then click on the iPhone icon in iTunes navigation bar to open iPhone management screen in iTunes.

On the iPhone summary screen in iTunes, scroll to the bottom until you see the Options box. Here, uncheck the checkbox for Automatically switch when this iPhone is connected option.

After unchecking the automatic sync option, click the Apply button at the bottom of the iTunes window.

That’s it. Your iPhone will no longer start syncing automatically when you plug it into your computer. Also, this will stop iTunes from opening when you connect your iPhone.

We’d recommend enabling the “Sync with this iPhone over Wi-Fi” option though. If your computer and iPhone are often connected to the same network, you can sync your iPhone wirelessly to your computer with a single click.

When Sync with this iPhone over Wi-Fi option is enabled, all you have to do to start syncing wirelessly is click the Sync button at the bottom of the iTunes window whenever you want sync your iPhone to your computer.

You’ll be able to monitor the sync progress at the top-center of the iTunes window.


🍻 Cheers!

Leave a Reply