How to Share Notes on iPhone

All the ways you can share notes on iPhone.

The Notes app on your iPhone comes in handy when you need to jot something down quickly. You can quickly create To-Do lists, format notes, scan documents, or take handwritten notes.

You can also share a note with other people, be it a scanned document, regular text, or a shopping list. What’s even more convenient is that you can not only share notes but also create collaborative notes that allow other people to edit them.

For your ease of convenience, we have covered each and every way to share notes with your contacts in this guide.

Share a Copy of the Note with your Contacts

Sharing a note with one of your contacts is as easy as it gets. To prevent others from being able to edit the note, you need to send it as a copy. If the contact has an Apple Device, you can iMessage the complete note so all the formatting and dynamic elements are retained. Otherwise, you can send it using a third-party platform which will convert it to text and then send it.

To share a copy of the note, from the Notes app, swipe right to left on the note and tap on the ‘Share’ button.

Alternatively, you can also open the particular note and click on the ‘Share’ icon. This will bring an overlay window to your screen.

Make sure that it says ‘Send Copy’ on the share sheet before sharing the note. If the person you wish to share the note with is nearby and is an Apple device user, tap on the ‘AirDrop’ icon and select the person you want to share it with. The other person will receive an alert on their iPhone, and they will need to hit ‘Accept’ to receive the file. Or if the person is not nearby, send it as an iMessage using the Messages app.

If you chose any other platform to share the note, locate the contact on the said platform and send a copy of the note in plain text.

Collaborate on a Note with Others

Instead of sharing a copy of the note, you can also share a link to it with other Apple device users that lets them collaborate on it. Do take note that this will not work for contacts who have another manufacturer’s device.

When you send a collaborative note to a contact, they will be able to view or make edits to the note, depending on the level of access you provide them.

To add collaborators on a note, swipe right to left on a note to share it.

Now, from the overlay window, tap on the ‘Send Copy’ option. Then, select the ‘Collaborate’ option from the menu.

After that, tap on the ‘Only invited people can edit’ option to configure permissions and access.

From here, you can edit the sharing settings, permissions, and what level of access want the collaborators to have. You can also change these settings later after sharing the note.

After that, you can choose the platform using which you wish to share the invite with others. This will bring an overlay window to your screen.

Now, type the contact number or address in the ‘To’ field and then tap on the ‘Send’ button.

Note: You can also share a folder comprising of notes using the same process.

Once the person accepts your invitation to the note, they can collaborate on it with you.

View Activity and Change Sharing Settings

If you have added collaborators to the note, you can view what changes were made by who and when. Moreover, you can also change the access and permission settings of the said note.

To view the activity, head to the shared note from the Notes app. Then, tap on the ‘Shared’ icon on the top to proceed. This will bring an overlay menu to your screen.

After that, tap on the ‘All Activity’ option from the list to continue.

You will be then able to view all the changes made to the note.

To change sharing settings, open the shared note using the Notes app on your iPhone. Then, tap on the ‘Shared’ icon.

After that, tap on the ‘Manage Shared Note’ option from the list.

Now, to add more people, tap on the ‘Share with More People’ option. If you wish to change the access level for all the participants, tap on the ‘Share Options’ tab.

Then, configure the permissions, access, and whether they can add people by tapping on respective options.

In case you wish to change access for an individual, tap on their name from the list.

After that, configure the permission for the individual by tapping on the desired option. If you do not wish to allow the person to add more people, tap on the switch following the ‘Can add people’ option and bring it to the ‘Off’ position.

If you wish to remove the person from the collaborator list, navigate to their profile by tapping on their name from the ‘Manage Shared Note’ screen.

Then, tap on the ‘Remove Access’ button to revoke access.

Create and Share a PDF of the Note

You can also create and share PDFs of selected notes right from your iPhone without any third-party app.

Navigate to the note in the Notes app you wish to share, then swipe right to left and tap on the ‘Share’ icon.

After that, scroll down and tap on the ‘Save to files’ option to continue.

Next, tap on the ‘Save’ option to save it as a PDF.

Now, head to the Files app and long-press on the file to open the context menu. Then, tap on the ‘Share’ option from the list and share the file using your desired platform.


That’s about it folks. Using the above-mentioned methods, you can easily share notes from your iPhone with your contacts, add them as collaborators so you all can edit the notes simultaneously, or even share them as a PDF.