Categories
🌐 Web

How to Delete All Passwords Saved in Chrome and your Google Account

Everything you need to know about deleting and managing saved passwords in Chrome

Chrome has a very nice feature that allows us to save all the usernames and passwords for any website that we login into. This feature is very helpful if there are multiple passwords that you have to remember and also it saves our time in logging in.

Although password managers are generally safe but saving your Passwords in a Web Browser can be sometimes risky if there are multiple people using your PC or Laptop.

Deleting saved passwords on Chrome is very simple. Here’s how to do it by clicking just a few buttons.

Reset Chrome Sync to Delete All Saved Passwords from Google Account

Our First and the most important step is to Turn-off the syncing. So we have to Launch Chrome Browser, and click on the three dots symbol in the upper Right-Hand corner.

A drop-down menu will open up, click on settings located at the bottom of the page.

Now on the new page click ‘Sync and Google services’, this will open up a list of options.

From the list click on ‘Review your synced data’. Clicking this will open Chrome sync settings associated with your Google account in a new tab.

On the Chrome sync settings webpage, scroll all the way down and click the ‘Reset Sync’ button. This will disconnect syncing on all your device temporarily and delete all the saved passwords from your Google account.

Delete All Saved Passwords from your Chrome Installation

After deleting saved passwords from your Google account associated with Chrome sync, you can delete passwords from your Chrome installation as well to remove them once and for all.

Go to Chrome settings again and select the “Clear browsing data” option under ‘Privacy and security’ section.

A new popup interface ‘Clear Browsing Data’ will be shown on the screen with several check-boxes. Click on the ‘Advanced tab’.

Then, click on the drop-down menu next to the ‘Time range’ option and select ‘All time’ from the available options.

Scroll down a bit inside the pop-up interface, and select/tick the checkbox beside ‘Passwords and sign-in data’ option. Then, click on the ‘Clear data’ button to delete all saved passwords from Chrome.

This will delete all passwords from your local Chrome installation as well.

💡 Tip
When you’re done, it’s advisable to turn Chrome sync back on, so you can go about Chrome as usual again. To do so, go back to the main Chrome settings page, and click on the “Turn on sync…” button.

Chrome Turn on sync


A simpler way for less desperate situations

Deleting a Few Saved Passwords in your Chrome Browser

If you’re here looking to delete only a few saved passwords from your Google Chrome browser. You do not need to reset Chrome sync and use the ‘Clear browsing data’ option in Chrome to delete all passwords. There’s a much simpler way when you want to delete a few passwords only.

From the main Chrome settings page, click on the ‘Passwords’ option under the ‘Auto-fill’ section.

After clicking on ‘Passwords’, a new menu will open up listing all the Login credentials of different websites. Locate the password of the website you wish to delete and click the ‘three dots symbol’ on the right side.

From the dropdown menu, click on ‘Remove’.

Repeat this for all the passwords that you wish to delete from the browser.

Chrome will effortlessly sync changes with the associated Google account so you don’t have to worry about the deleted passwords being accessible from anywhere else.


Hope this step-by-step article on how to delete saved passwords on chrome was helpful and that the information provided can be of use.

Share this :