How to Enable or Disable Automatic Sign-in After Update on Windows 11

Computer Setup

Easily let Windows finish setting up an update by enabling the automatic sign-in feature in Windows 11 settings.

Most of the time when you install an update can notice that your computer has gone through multiple restarts to finally finish installing an update. Now, if you have secured your computer with a pin or password, you have to present and provide the Sign-in credentials so that windows can boot up and finish installing the update. The ‘Automatically Sign-in after an Update’ feature allows windows to save your Sign-in credential and use it to automatically sign in to your account to finish installing an update.

Enable or Disable Automatic Sign-in After Update from Windows Settings

The Auto Sign-in After Update feature can be enabled from the Settings menu in a few simple steps. First, you have to open up the Settings menu by searching for it Windows Search or by pressing the Windows+r key on your keyboard.

After the Settings window opens, click on ‘Accounts’ from the left panel and then select ‘Sign-in options’ from the right panel.

Now, if you scroll down on the right panel, you will see a setting called ‘Use my sign-in info to automatically finish setting up after an update’ with a toggle next to it. Set the toggle to ‘On’

And that is it. You have enabled the Automatic Sign-in After Update feature. But in case you are away from your computer while the update is happening and don’t want to leave your computer unlocked, you might want to disable this feature instead.

To disable the Automatic Sign-in After Update feature you just have to navigate back to the ‘Sign-in options’ menu once again by opening the Settings menu and selecting ‘Accounts’ from the left panel and then ‘Sign-in options’ from the right panel.

Once you are in the ‘Sign-in options’ menu just turn the toggle next to “Use my sign-in info to automatically finish setting up after an update” option to ‘Off’ and this feature will be disabled.


Enable or Disable Automatic Sign-in After Update via the Group Polciy Editor

The Group Policy Editor is a tool that allows you to modify various settings and properties of Windows.

Start by opening the Run window by pressing Windows+r on your keyboard. On the Run window, type ‘gpedit.msc’ inside the command line and press Enter. This is the command to launch the Group Policy Editor window.

After the ‘Local Group Policy Editor’ window opens, select ‘Computer Configuration’ from the left panel.

Then, select ‘Administrative Templates’ from the expanded options.

Next, double-click on the ‘Windows Components’ folder.

Lastly, select the ‘Windows Logon Options’ folder, and you will see the policy called ‘Sign-in and lock last interactive user automatically..’ on the right side of the screen. This is the policy that you need to disable.

Double-click on the ‘Sign-in and lock last interactive user automatically..’ policy and select the ‘Enabled’ toggle. Lastly, click on ‘OK’ to save the change.

Once you set this policy to Enabled, the Automatic Sign-in After Update feature will take effect.

If you want to Disable the feature from the Group Policy Editor, go back to the same directory and double-click on the policy again. After the window appears, select the ‘Disabled ‘ toggle and then click on ‘OK’.