How to Know if You Got Blocked on iMessage

Message blocked

Tips that’ll help you suss out whether you have been blocked.

Getting blocked downright sucks! No one’s going to argue about that. But when you’re using iMessage to communicate with someone, how can you know for sure whether they have really blocked you or it’s just that overthinking mind of yours working overtime?

Although there isn’t a single fact that’d make you completely certain, there are some ways that’d help you figure it out, i.e., whether you were really blocked or the person was just too busy to get back to you.

✅ Check your iMessage Delivery Status

Apple’s exclusive instant messaging service iMessage has a lot of features. One of them happens to be the delivery status. Each message you send via iMessage has a delivery status tag with it. It lets you know if your message was delivered. Although this ‘delivered’ only appears underneath the latest message (and then changes to read if the other person has read receipts on), it can be very helpful in sussing out your blocked status.

If “delivered” is appearing underneath all your latest messages, then rest assured, the person hasn’t blocked you.

But if suddenly the “delivered” tag disappears, it can be a cause for concern. When someone blocks your number, they’d stop getting your messages, and your phone will no longer be able to tell you that it has delivered your message.

The “Delivered” tag disappears.

The messages you sent before you were blocked can still be read by them, i.e., their status can change from “Delivered” to “Read”. But the message you sent after getting blocked will not reach them. Any messages you send while you were blocked won’t reach the other person even after getting unblocked.

But does the absence of “delivered” always mean that you’ve been blocked by the other party? Not necessarily. There are other scenarios where your iMessages stop getting delivered to the other person.

If someone shifts from an iPhone to an Android without deleting their number from the iMessage servers, their number will still show up in iMessages. But the messages you send will not be reaching them. Hence, no “delivered” tag. They might also be simply not connected to the internet. So, what to do next?

🤙 Try Calling Them

iMessage is not a standalone app where the person can block you. They have to block your number completely, which means when you are blocked, you can’t just “not text” them, you also can’t call them.

When your number is blocked, calling the person would almost immediately send you to either voicemail or disconnect your call. If they have the voicemail service on, you’d be able to leave a voicemail, but it’d go straight to their blocked voicemail box. But the cue here is going straight to voicemail or getting disconnected every time after not even one complete ring.

⛔ Could it be DND?

Your call going straight to voicemail or getting disconnected does not always mean that you have been blocked. Their iPhone could simply be in the Do Not Disturb mode. So, how do you figure that out?

First of all, you could try calling them again within 3 minutes of your first call. If they have the setting for ‘Repeated Calls’ on, your call will get through.

But if it doesn’t, it still doesn’t necessarily mean you’re blocked. They just might have the setting turned off. It’s time to open your Messages again and drop them an iMessage. Even in the DND mode, your message is delivered to the other person. They just won’t get a notification.

So, if your messages aren’t getting delivered, and your calls aren’t getting through either, sorry to say, but the chances are, you have most likely been blocked by them.


But don’t write them off just yet. You need to give the person some time. They could just be out of the network area or have their phone switched off – all the same things will happen, i.e., your messages won’t be delivered and your calls will go straight to voicemail. But if this continues for some days, it’s time to take the hint and either mend your fences or move on because they have most definitely blocked you.