The shared block list feature in Clubhouse helps you identify a user who has been blocked by multiple people in your network.
As per recent figures, Clubhouse has reached the 10 million worldwide downloads mark recently. This has to be read in conjunction with the fact that it’s available only on iPhone. Moreover, a user can only sign up with an invite.
With such a large user base, there is a good chance of coming across people with different ideas, opinions, and ideological inclinations. In such cases, confrontations have been reported and people often end up blocking such users. Blocking someone helps you keep a distance and avoid any further encounters with them.
Related: How to Block Someone on Clubhouse
Understanding Clubhouse Shared Blocklist Feature
When multiple people in your network (your followers and people who you follow) block a user, there will be a ‘Shield’ sign visible next to their profile. This is an indication that the concerned user may have had confrontations with those in your circle. This sign is only visible to you and is not public.
With this feature, Clubhouse aims to warn users before they engage with someone who people in their network have had blocked. When you see this symbol on anyone’s profile, contact those in your network to know more about the concerned person.
It also helps you decide if you want to move this user to the stage. Once someone is on the stage, they can speak at will until they are moved back to the audience. Therefore, always make sure you know the backstory and the context behind someone with a shield symbol on their profile before inviting them or allowing them to the stage.
Moreover, there is a chance that the person has been blocked for a reason that doesn’t concern you. In such cases, you avoiding interaction goes against the basic culture and ethics of the platform. The idea of Clubhouse is to bring people closer and encourage healthy interactions.
Now that you know about the concept of the shared block list on Clubhouse, you can easily decide whether to interact with a user who has been blocked by some of your peers.