Apple may have added the eSIM functionality into your new iPhone but the service is currently available in a very small set of countries only.

eSIM is a technology which stores your phone number digitally on your device. You don’t need to insert a SIM card to use eSIM. iPhone XS, XS Max and iPhone XR are the world’s first smartphones to feature eSIM. However, the service is offered by very networks world over.

Check out the list of countries and networks which offer eSIM currently:

  • Austria: T-Mobile
  • Canada: Bell
  • Croatia: Hrvatski Telekom
  • Czech Republic: T-Mobile
  • Germany: Telekom, Vodafone

  • Hungary: Magyar Telekom
  • India: Reliace Jio, Airtel
  • Spain: Vodafone Spain
  • United Kingdom: EE
  • United States: AT&T, T-Mobile USA, and Verizon Wireless

That’s only 10 countries and 14 networks in the entire world.

Note: The eSIM functionality won’t be available on iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max, and iPhone XR at launch. The feature will be added with a software update later this year.